Goodbye 2019!

2019 came in quietly and stayed that way all year. It seems I didn’t do much the last twelve months. I guess the biggest thing that happened was that I took a few months to work on my own project instead of everyone else’s. And I took the time to do some little things I never did before, like visiting a salt room with friends, sending out Christmas cards, putting up three Christmas trees.

Here are a few fun and memorable things:

Led a session at a women’s retreat on blooming after loss in Columbus, Mississippi, with a few other A Second Blooming authors. Some of the ladies shown here playing drums.

Edited some good fiction and nonfiction books.

Served on a panel at the first-ever Franklin Book Festival.

Joined a new writers group: Harpeth River Writers.

Participated with the Authors Circle at Main Street Festival and Pumpkinfest.

Participated in a Salon Reading with two other local authors – first time I ever did that!

Enjoyed baking with lavender. Made cupcakes for my granddaughter’s birthday.

Had my own big birthday with everybody in the family in attendance! That never happens. Shown here, all the women of the family, one facing the wrong way.

Watched the grandson play basketball. (He won the Super Bowl in football, but I missed that game.)

Went shopping with the granddaughter. (Oh mercy me!)

Went to the mountains. Had Thanksgiving with Son 2 in Asheville, went to the National Gingerbread House Competition, and journeyed up a mountain to a Christmas tree farm, where I found fodder for a story. Shown here, Grove Park Inn (my favorite place).

Went to the beach. Spent Christmas with Son 1 in Pass Christian, Mississippi, and his family. Had Christmas Eve brunch at Brennan’s in New Orleans and went to see Little Women on Christmas Day. Shown below, Bananas Foster at Brennan’s.

AND THE BIG THING: Wrote a novel and finished first revisions.

Thank you 2019 for being soft to me.

Leave a comment