Alas Babylon: There’s a crack in the bell!

If you go to church today and pray or if you are a praying type, pray for your own heart . . . and I will pray for mine.

Am I a uniter or divider? Do I express hate in my speech? Do I pass on what others are saying without checking it out for the facts? Do I spread lies? Do I merely want what I want no matter what the truth is or what God wants? Can I begin to figure things out with reason to see if they make sense at all? While my own city or county may be falling apart or consumed in poverty and welfare, or while my own city or county may be exploding in growth and opportunity, do I have a heart for those in opposite circumstances, or do I put down the whole country and its leaders because of the circumstances of my own location, disregarding whether my people have tried to initiate change within themselves or their own communities? Am I able to tell the truth or do I feel a need to tell half a truth or a twist of truth?

Am I able to look beyond the last eight years and see that our problems started way back before 2009.

Do I pick little snippets of facts out of context, much like I do the Bible verses I use to point out my beliefs—leaving out important punctuation, leaving out end words, leaving out the whole truth and the big picture?

For the first time in my life, I can see how a civil war starts. People are angry enough to do it. People are angry at politics as usual. Mob rule is happening, and good people cannot see truth. Our country is divided. We the people of the United States of America are divided. I don’t think we can be healed.

Two hundred years from now, I don’t want historians to be arguing about what caused the War Within the Borders of 2017. Illegal immigrants, race, white supremacy, open borders, Muslims, Isis, the middle class treated unfairly, poverty, the government not taking care of America first, the fear of guns being taken away, abortion, states’ rights . . . and for God’s sake, don’t let it be religion.

I see a lot of good things happening in this country. I think we are great. I hear others saying we are not, and the end will come if “x” happens. Alas Babylon.

libertybell

We are cracked. We may not ever get fixed.

One Comment on “Alas Babylon: There’s a crack in the bell!”


Leave a Reply

