Man’s World?

I’m thinking about buying a life-sized, blow-up man doll.

I’ve never lived “single” in my whole life. I’ve always had a daddy or a husband.

But now I’m a woman without her husband for seven years in June. And without her father for nine years as of March 31.

I’ve always heard how single women are taken advantage of. But I didn’t believe it, really. I’ve always had a trusting view of my fellow man and an expectation that everyone will do right. That is my downfall. It always has been.

I never had any qualms about taking care of business alone. Actually, I took care of business when Charlie and I were married. He was busy at the office. I kept the books—office and home—and took care of us financially. I arranged for all the house repairs and purchases of new air conditioners and hot water heaters and such. But . . . he, a man, was always there in the periphery. And Charlie was always quite willing to tell anyone who crossed him that he didn’t give a flying “whatever-word-that-starts-with-an-f” and just fix it. And they always listened to the man.

I thought I could do it. And I can. I am quite capable.

But I cannot fight the system of MAN.

If you are single and taking care of business alone, maybe you have experienced being taken advantage of and maybe not. Maybe life goes perfectly for you. I hope so. I have to say, though, after pushing into it and fighting it for seven years, it is real, it’s out there, you will eventually face it, and you will have to deal with it.

Men take advantage of women.

I’ve had more than one person tell me along the way: “They didn’t listen to you because you’re a woman.”

That ruffled my feathers. I don’t want to believe that. But you know what? They were right. There are lots of bad apples out there. Even “nice Christian” bad apples.

Now, don’t get me wrong. There are some good ones. I’ve dealt with some honest businessmen with integrity—my car salesman, employer, financial advisor, realtor, to name a few.

And then there are others, and that’s what I need the blow-up man doll for. A man in the periphery. Don’t mess with me. He will tell you something about a flying something and yell at you to just do it.

Men bully women.

It doesn’t sound pretty, does it? Has it ever happened to you? Be honest.

I regret to say I have been bullied by men. I didn’t recognize it for what it was until later. Bullying is when someone uses superior strength or influence to intimidate someone else and force her to accept or do what he wants. I once had seven men stand me down when I pointed out a problem that needed to be fixed. One even screamed at me, red-faced, and spat tobacco juice at my feet: “We ain’t gon do nothin!” Bullying is a method of shutting someone up when you don’t want to do something even if you are legally required to do it.

Bullying hurts. It takes part of your person out of you. You perceive a problem. You know it exists, it is obvious to the naked eye, it needs attention, but you can’t get it acknowledged and handled.

There have been other bullying episodes….

What do you do? How do you respond? Take it? Fight it? Be mean? Be hated? Give up? Just don’t give a flying “whatever-word-that-starts-with-an-f?”

Because I don’t know. I just don’t know.

But I do know now that you don’t want to google for a picture of a blow-up man doll.

2 Comments on “Man’s World?”

  1. Windy Mama says:

    I’m sorry you’ve been bullied by men, although it is a common enough occurrence. I AM impressed that you found a postable picture of an inflatable man. Boy, could we have fun with the concept of “inflatable man”. I always thought they were self-inflated and self-inflatable. Men. In general.

  2. Don Day says:

    Yes it does happen dear Kathy


Leave a Reply

