Do I need them?

Resolutions. That’s what I’m talking about. Do I need them?

Last year’s first of January blog said, “I need resolutions. With them, I know I am making progress. If in the end, I don’t reach the top of the ladder, it’s okay. I’m at least halfway or three-fourths of the way up. And that is good.”

I kept my resolutions from last year. 1. Walk every day or at least five days a week. 2. Keep better financial records. (Not great, but better than the year before.)

new-years1

But I had no goal on my list for 2014. Nothing I planned to accomplish. And so I guess I didn’t accomplish anything. Is that okay?

I think so.

2014 was a good year. I did lots of stuff. I worked hard and played hard. I took time to walk in the neighborhood and explore and enjoy nature. I kayaked and hiked.

I traveled some — went to five states: Mississippi, Alabama, North Carolina, Nevada, and Arizona…and many towns in those states. I went to Las Vegas and Area 51 and the Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam and rafted on Lake Powell, went down Route 66, visited the Hopi and Navajo Reservations, toured the slot canyons, bought jewelry in Sedona, and went up the mountain to Jerome and bought a silver and turquoise bracelet and ate a hamburger.

I went home to the Delta. And the thing that made that so wonderful was that I went with family. We’re scattered and it’s hard to get everybody together. But we did. Both my sons (North Carolina and Florida), my sister and niece (Memphis), and my twin grandchildren. We went to Cleveland, visited Mom and Dad at North Cleveland Cemetery on North Bayou, drove by the old house and the barber shop, went to Delta State and found Mama and Dad’s brick under the clock tower and bought Okra shirts at the bookstore.

TurnStyle was successful in 2014. I had good solid work and enjoyed my clients and their writing. In the technical aspect of my writing, I was one of two Americans to work on an international book project, now published. (Oh, so, hey, I did publish something in 2014!)

And with my personal writing, I took my new book on the road to my home state for a signing, I spoke about it at GriefShare groups, and I made appearances at local bookstores, festivals, and art crawls. And, drum roll, the big thing was that I was on a panel at the Southern Festival of Books.

Both my sons got their “dream” jobs in 2014 (and well, a day or two after the end of the year). One is back in school to climb the ladder a bit further.

My dog turned sixteen in 2014 and is still hanging in with quality of life. She perseveres even though she has congestive heart disease, cataracts, deafness, and spinal degeneration that will make her a paraplegic. I’ve built ramps, put down throw rugs so she won’t slip on the hardwoods, and installed solar lamps to light the back yard in the evenings if she needs to go out.

Yes. 2014 was a great year. And I did accomplish a thing or two.

I’ll take a little more in 2015, if it’s not too much to ask. More of a slow appreciation of the world around me. More spiritual growth. More intellectual reflection. Maybe do an oil painting. Maybe work on my back yard until it is absolutely perfect. And I want my William Faulkner irises to bloom this year. And as for my writing, I just want to enjoy putting words together. Beautiful, definitive, descriptive words. Right now that sounds good. And fun and fulfilling.

comfort and joy

I want peace and friendship and laughter. And Comfort and Joy, like the name of my favorite Tom Clark gnomes, above.

One Comment on “Do I need them?”

  1. Don Day says:

    Great for you Kathy!
    I am very happy for you
    Don


Leave a Reply

