Late November Dark

I got in my walk at 5:30 this morning. Rain is just west of here, about where 840 meets I-40. I keep watching the green on my iPhone Weather Channel because I want to get the dog out many times before it hits. She doesn’t like her feet to get wet. It’s dark out at 5:30. And windy. The wind hit me head on and pushed hard into me when I walked the north-south leg of the block.

Now it’s 6:00. What am I going to do now? I’ve had two cups of coffee, exercised, checked email and Facebook. And now?

My writing schedule is normally from five to seven or longer.

It feels funny not to be writing. I should be writing. I should be working on something. Essay? Novel? But here I sit. At my desk. Tapping out a blog post. The window beside me is open, and wind rushes in.

All I’ve done for years is rush.

I need the peace. I need to be still and quiet. And think. Just think.

Leave a Reply

