In the Still

This morning when it was still dark I poured a cup of coffee in my shiny brown mug from The Pollard Hotel in Red Lodge, Montana, and took it out on the deck. I sat in one of the Adirondacks and watched the sky lighten. I saw a strip of red through the thinning September trees at the end of my street, and I felt an autumn chill on my arms. There is no greater peace than watching a morning begin.

Light and puffy clouds in gray and red filled the eastern sky and kept getting lighter and brighter. I was afraid that if I took a drink of coffee, I’d miss something. I didn’t even want to blink. I wanted to take it all in.

morningclouds

“Be still, and know that I am God.” (Psalm 46:10)

I’ve been so busy working and writing a book at the same time that I missed a lot of sunrises. I pushed myself from the time my feet hit the floor at five in the morning, or earlier, till night when I couldn’t stay awake any more. That leaves a person with a little anxiety and a lot of not seeing the world around her.

Now I want a little time to sit and watch and to know my world. I want some time to be still and let my heart rest.

One Comment on “In the Still”

  1. Glenda Beall says:

    I understand that feeling. I seem to have been running, running, running for the past four years and now I am trying to learn to stop and be in the moment. Your sunrise experience was lovely.


Leave a Reply

