So, This Is How It Is

Yesterday I stopped at the Henpeck Market, a local eatery, placed a to-go order, and sat at a table up front to wait for it. A handsome middle-aged couple was sitting at the table next to me, and I couldn’t help but notice how nicely they were dressed, how fine they looked, how they seemed to be occupied and content talking to each other.

Their BLT’s arrived, and she got up to go pick out a pack of potato chips from a big barrel. “Do you want some? They have all different kinds?” He shook his head. “No, I’ll get some on the way out.” She was trying to help. “I’ll bring them to you.”

With this, his countenance changed. He motioned for her, strongly, and pointed to her chair. “Will you come over here and SIT DOWN?” She obeyed. “I want to eat my sandwich HOT.” He said it in a nasty, condescending voice, shaking his head, like she should know his needs better, because he was all that mattered.

I felt my breathing stop. I felt sorry for her. I didn’t want to see this high-man-power abusing his wife. She looked at him, her mouth half open, like why in the hell did he have to act like this, and she rolled her eyes and shook her head. And what did he do?

I knew it was coming, I could feel the knot tightening in my stomach, no surely not, but I knew full well it was coming.

He bowed his head and said the blessing before she could even get her eyes closed, so he could eat his sandwich HOT. Dear Father God, please bless this bacon, lettuce, and tomato, because this is the most important thing in my life, bless it to the nourishment of my body, and please bless my life to your service. In Jesus’ holy name. Amen.

If I’d had a hammer and some nails and two sticks of wood, I’d know what to do with them.

5 Comments on “So, This Is How It Is”

  1. Whoa. I’ve seen that same couple over and over again and it saddens me every time. (Not really THAT couple, but couples like that.) Thankfully, I’ve also witnessed loving, compassionate couples, and my own sweet husband is the kindest man I know. Thanks for the reminder that we can all stand to be more patient and that we are not invisible. Lord, let me be the good example for others.

  2. Sarah says:

    You’re so brilliant. I admire you so much!

  3. Neil Jones says:

    Ironic it was in the Henpeck Market. Are you sure you weren’t in the Roosterpeck Market?

  4. That is so sad and infuriating. But that wasn’t a Christian marriage. That was two people very confused about how they are supposed to be living. Jesus treated women with respect. My husband and I try to live like he did. We are not by any means perfect, but we strive to be kind, forgive easily, and show respect to everybody.

  5. inktarsia says:

    I really like that last line.


Leave a Reply

