New Year

It’s 59 and raining on this New Year’s morning at 6:38 a.m. I’m spending it with whatever disease the kids and grandkids had at Christmas. I have no voice, cannot talk at all, and my head and chest are congested. I feel sure my entire January will be spent this way, even though I am packing in the Vitamin C and a medley of juices. This happened last year at Christmas, as well. Then, I took two rounds of antibiotics and two rounds of steroids to no avail. [Note to self: require a clean-health certification prior to visiting Mississippi again. Hardy and Jillie have got to get well and stay that way!]

New Year’s Eve afternoon was spent cleaning out the garage of my new home, so I can get at least one car in it. I’m very close. I couldn’t finish because I didn’t feel up to par.

New Year’s Eve was spent eating takeout from Captain D’s that my friend brought over. Then we watched Midnight Cowboy, and then he went to Walgreens and bought OTC drugs for me. He actually found one that covered all nineteen symptoms.

I took the nighttime liquid and slept peacefully, but I did wake up at midnight when fireworks exploded all over the neighborhood. Some people must be happy to see 2012. Bah, humbug. It will be like all the others — a bunch of calendar days going by, waiting for “What next?” and knowing that question will be answered.

Maybe something good will happen, too, in 2012. We’ll see.

Resolutions? I’ve made them, and I am fully aware of how hard it will be to make them happen, and maybe in February, when this disease passes, I’ll have the energy to begin chipping away at them. Right now, on Day One, I’m already a month in the negative.

Hell no, I’m not a pessimist. I’m a realist. I’ve tried to tell people that for years. Plus, I just don’t feel good, uh, well.

2 Comments on “New Year”

  1. mizrizbaboo says:

    You caught the crud in 2011 — behind us bad year! I see blue skies and bright sunshine along with good health in your future. And what’s that? More success in writing, reinventing, advancing. Best to you!

  2. Sumbody doesn’t feel good and is grumpy!


Leave a Reply

