Mama

Visitation for Mama is tonight. Judi and I went to the funeral home this morning and set out pictures and added special touches to the room.

Mama was the solid rock of our family. This house is not the same without her. I feel the balance of my world shifting, and I liked it much better when I was the young mother with babies, and I had a mom who would be with me forever, and I had a grandmother who was healthy enough to walk the wooded paths on the family land.

Mama’s funeral is tomorrow. Afterward, I will leave Cleveland, and it will never be the same. I will come back again a few times to take care of business … but this town, this place that is so much a part of me, will be lost to me forever. The tears finally come with that thought.

5 Comments on “Mama”

  1. Eric says:

    ….. I am so sorry for your loss, ma’am…….. and the next time that you are in Cleveland, TN, I would love to make the trip down to meet you and buy you lunch…..

  2. So much grief for one woman to bear, Kathy. Keep writing through it–your words bless us all. We have a saying in the Orthodox Church when someone dies, “May Her Memory Be Eternal.”

  3. Linda says:

    Kathy, I came across your blog from another one. First of all, I’m so sorry for your loss. There are no words when one loses a mother.

    I’ve been reading a few of your posts, and I’m stunned by the way you make the word come alive. I’ll be back – I have things to learn from you!

  4. Deborah Rey says:

    I feel like crying for and with you, Kathy. The cards life has been dealing you these past few years are too heavy, too painful, too unfair, even for a strong person like you.
    I wish I could offer you my hand and my shoulder in person. Please, accept it virtually. If thoughts help, then do know I am thinking of you.
    May your Mama – Her Memory will be Eternal – rest in Peace and may you find it wherever it may be.

  5. Sorry, Kathy. Wow. As you know my mother died about this time last year. This post reminded me of my own:
    http://leisahammett.typepad.com/the_journey_with_grace/2009/05/missing-mother.html
    Perhaps you saw it. Hope you do not mind my sharing it. Namaste,


Leave a Reply

