A Sixties Memory

CHS Chorus

CHS Chorus

Cleveland High School Concert Chorus 1967

We wore navy blue skirts or pants and white shirts with a red, white, and blue crepe paper banner stretched across our chests. Under the capable direction of Paul Jones, we traveled to other schools and presented a patriotic program. On this 4th of July, I am reminded of some of the words we sang in harmony:

“This is my country, land of my birth; this is my country, grandest on earth; I pledge thee my allegiance, America, the bold; for this is my country, to have and to hold!”

Happy Fourth, all!

2 Comments on “A Sixties Memory”

  1. mary griffin trssell says:

    boy did this bring memories back! and i do remember paul jones. wonder what’s happened to him? great pic too huh?!

  2. Gloria says:

    Great photo! Tell me Kathy, where are you? I didn’t know you were in the chorus. I just picked up a similar 60’s photo at the card shop. It has ten girls in white shorts and sweater tops practicing the perfect walk with a book on their head. I’m guessing they’re at Cypress Gardens. I plan to use my photo at a fall reunion and write my girlfriends’ names on a book. Southern girls.


Leave a Reply

