The Birth of a Book

I told my co-editors yesterday that I feel as though I am eleven months pregnant, and I am so ready to deliver this baby!

Publisher's Approval Form

Publisher's Approval Form

To the right is the fetus, uh, manuscript, Gathering: Writers of Williamson County — the final pdf for approval.  I requested 4 final tweaks today, and they were applied. To the left is the release form I signed this morning with my late husband’s orange UT pen. I wrote my name in fancy script on the line above CWW President. Then I faxed it to the publisher and walked back to my desk coolly, but what I really wanted to do was rip my clothes off and yell “Hallelujah!”

Now the manuscript is off to Lightning Source to be printed and bound. In 3 weeks, we will have a book in hand…or 500 books or maybe 1,000. Haven’t had time to question that yet. We quickly move to the next phase of book publishing — marketing and publicity. And sales!

But now, for me, to quote a famous American: “Free at last, free at last, thank God Almighty, I am free at last.”

The book is finished.

I have my life back.

3 Comments on “The Birth of a Book”

  1. Congratulations! It’s a bouncing baby Book! Pens for everybody! Follow the new baby’s progress here and on twitter: @cww_writers

  2. inktarsia says:

    Two grandkids and a new baby in one year. You’ve been busy. Congratulations on the new member of your writing family. Looking forward to seeing it!

  3. Oh, you’re funny. And I SO understand what your are saying being that I’ve got my nose to the grindstone this summer writing From Heartache to Hope: Middle Tennessee Families Living with Autism, a coffee table book of stories and black and white portraiture. Thanks for giving my tired body’s heart a dose of levity!


Leave a Reply

