“Congratulations! The Best of Creative Nonfiction, Volume 3”

That was the subject of an email I got December 3.

“In July 2009, W. W. Norton will publish the first edition of The Best Creative Nonfiction, Volume 3, edited by Lee Gutkind. This collection will showcase new voices, ideas, forms, and approaches in creative nonfiction and will be published simultaneously as a trade paperback and an issue of the groundbreaking journal Creative Nonfiction.

“We’d very much like to include your blog entry titled “An Open Letter,” which was nominated by Sarah Einstein…”

I am honored, humbled, ecstatic. I’ve read and studied Lee Gutkind for years and subscribed to the journal, considering it the Bible of creative nonfiction. It is THE journal of the genre. And Lee Gutkind is the Godfather of the genre. And to have my work published there is the ultimate. I am honored, humbled, ecstatic.

Thank you, Sarah!

And thanks to my husband, always my biggest supporter, who literally laid down his life for this and goes with me once again into a publishing experience.

So … subscribe to the journal!

4 Comments on ““Congratulations! The Best of Creative Nonfiction, Volume 3””

  1. Congratulations! I can’t wait to run out and buy my copy. Are you going to get too big for your britches and refuse to sign it, now that you’re a best of?

  2. inktarsia says:

    You SO deserve this! This blog is one of the high points of my reading week.

    Sarah, we need to schedule a signing, so Kathy can sign our books. Ideas? Anywhere warm would do. You can sign the Whitefish pieces for us, too.

  3. Kathy says:

    You guys are awesome. Thank you both, Sarah and Sherry, for your support! And if I get too big for my britches, it will be literally and because of the M&Ms and Double Chocolate Milanos. And you both are far better writers than I am.

  4. Fantastic, Kathy. I am thrilled, too. You are not only a terrific writer, but a generous mentor. It was early this year that I finally got the nerve to send out some bits of writing. You (as editor of MLASJ) are the first person who said yes, and I owe you big time for giving me the encouragement to keep on a-going. There have been lots of rejections and a few acceptances since, but I am squarely in “the writing life” now thanks in large measure to that magic moment of seeing my name and a story at MLASJ.

    Congratulations on your upcoming story in The Best of Creative Nonfiction, Vol. 3.


Leave a Reply

