“It’s official.”

That was the subject of an email I got today. “It’s official.” I knew what it meant before I read the body of the email, and a smile started creeping out almost to my ears.

WE’RE PREGNANT!

No, not me. My son is. Well, my daughter-in-law is. Pregnant. Having a baby. Maybe two babies.

Life goes on… There won’t be a Poppy. My husband had already been tagged with a name when the process of in vitro was first discussed. So now I am announcing that I would like to be called Moppy. Yea, I think it fits.

And this is a lovely surprise on today of all days — my birthday!

4 Comments on ““It’s official.””

  1. Fabulous news. Very shortly after my mother-in-law passed away, my step-daughter became pregnant with her first child. Shortly after my husband’s very dearest friend died, I came into his life. I don’t know, Kathy, I just feel there’s a link and a bond there, and Poppy is somehow in the midst of this lovely bit of life budding.

    p.s. Happy Birthday!

  2. Beth W. says:

    A note — I’m just learning WordPress (via Heather at Soul Food Cafe) and have created an new blog (http://longleaf.wordpress.com) with the public user name of “pinewoodswriter.” Anyway, when you see it (as in the earlier comment) it’s just me.

  3. Joy says:

    My husband never made it to my grandson’s birth either Kathy….but he was thrilled at the thought.

    I can almost feel Winston’s warm smile all the way from here……

    Congratulations Moppy….and a very Happy Birthday! How are you ever going to top that gift?

  4. inktarsia says:

    First: Moppy. Perhaps many months later, we’ll call you Nana. 😉 Keeping you all in my thoughts!


Leave a Reply

