Barney’s Car

Nancy and I went to Leiper’s Fork last Saturday and ate the world’s best hamburger at the city market on the edge of town. Then we ate homemade carrot cake at The Back Porch. After walking around browsing in shops, I tried to get inside the Mayberry patrol car sitting by Puckett’s Grocery. It was locked, but it looked just like my old 1960 green Fairlane 500 that I drove all through high school.

Barney's Car

Barney's Car

On the back of the car is Mt. Pilot Ford, Mt. Pilot, North Carolina. I can almost see Barney and Thelma Lou in the front seat. Or Andy and Helen. Or Gomer running after Barney yelling, “Citizen’s arrest, citizen’s arrest!”

Mt. Pilot Ford

Mt. Pilot Ford

I am hooked on Andy Griffith reruns. I watch two in a row every night at 10:00 and 10:30. I’ve seen each one at least forty times. Barney was brilliant, and his character never grows old. I’ve memorized almost every line and I’ve oft quoted his famous “Nip it, nip it, nip it in the bud.” It’s a light experience at the end of a hectic day.

Besides, the dog knows when she hears that familiar whistled melody that it’s time for her to go to sleep.

2 Comments on “Barney’s Car”

  1. sarahemc2 says:

    I didn’t know you were an Andy Griffith show fan! My office is just a hop, skip, and a prat-fall from Don Knotts Boulevard… I’ll send you something Barney-esque next time we have one of the many Knotts-themed festivals here in Morgantown. Or, better yet, come and visit and I’ll take you on the tour! (It only takes about five minutes, but we also have a restaurant or two and porches for sitting outside and chatting.)

  2. quilt32 says:

    I’m a serious fan of the Andy Griffith show, too. I have all of the black and white shows on DVD (box set gifts from my daughter) but still enjoy turning on the TV reruns because it’s always a surprise which show will come on … and always delightful.
    Lillian


Leave a Reply

