Rain…

Finally, rain. Three in the morning and I can’t sleep, so I get up, turn the coffee pot on, and go out in the garage to clean off some more shelves. I don’t know why my husband had so much stuff. Stuff that I will never use. Enough stuff to open an electrical company, a phone company, a plumbing company, and of course, a computer shop.

Today is the day I move stuff out of his office in Nashville. For two weeks I’ve been cleaning out and throwing away and making runs to the dumpster. How do you throw away a man’s life? I’ve sold a few things, but by and large the rest of it will be coming home to sit in my garage for a while.

And the rain is a fitting tribute.

2 Comments on “Rain…”

  1. quilt32 says:

    I’ve been reading your blog for several months and was so sorry to see that you had lost your husband. My husband passed away 4 years ago and I can relate so well to your trying to cope with everything. My thoughts are with you.
    Lillian

  2. sarahemc2 says:

    This must be a hundred miles past horrible, to have to spend all your days sifting through the things left from the business. But maybe it’s immersive mourning, and maybe (I’m praying for this on your behalf) it will make the healing cleaner, more complete. You’re in our thoughts and prayers.


Leave a Reply

