Pierced Ears Sagas

Chaeli’s Earrings

“She walks in beauty, like the night
Of cloudless climes and starry skies…” [Lord Byron]

My sons, both reckless sorts, went out when they were teenagers and got their ears pierced, against my knowledge or approval. One waited until the day after high school graduation because the private academy he attended had a strict dress code. The other didn’t give a rip, transferred to a public school, and got three holes when he was a junior. Needless to say, words were exchanged in both instances.

It was a different story altogether when my “daughter” (should I say “dog-ter”?) came along. Girls should have pierced ears and pretty jewelry. I was determined she’d have it all–fads and fashion and frilly things. Yes, the dog got earrings! No, her ears aren’t really pierced, but you can’t tell by looking.

I remember how it was when I was fourteen, desperately begged to have my ears pierced, and Mama said no. “It’s a fad,” she said. “You’ll be sorry twenty years from now when you have holes in your ears.”

All these years later, Mama would be shocked to walk down an aisle in Macy’s and see all the racks of earrings for pierced ears, a fad of the 1960s.

Read my earring saga, “Toeing the Line.”

Leave a Reply

